Welcome to St. Hell

Amazon / Author / Goodreads / Publisher

Cover for Welcome to St. Hell by Lewis Hancox. This graphic novel has a cover featuring an illustration of a young person in a skirt walking down a school corridor and an adult person standing in the background saying "that was me in high school"

This graphic novel is a bit different to the ones I usually read because it’s a memoir. Usually my graphic novels are a little bit more ‘fantasy’, but I had to give this one a read.

I’m so glad I did!

It’s super honest and doesn’t hold back with the truth of growing up as a trans man. I really appreciated how open this book is and how it tells the reader exactly what happened without any sugar-coating. It’s a brave book. It deserves every award.

I’ll never forget the drama that hit the UK when Waterstones named Welcome to St. Hell in its shortlist for children’s book of the year. If this book had been around while I was at high school, a great many people I know would have felt less isolated. They’d have seen themselves reflected in a stranger’s story.

That’s always a good thing.

Have you read Welcome to St. Hell? Tell me what you liked about it in the comments!



Leave a comment

About Me

Hey! I’m an adult fiction writer whose interests vary from Pre-Raphaelite art to death care. In February 2021 I published my first novel, Not Quite Out, with SRL Publishing and the help of my two cats, Bella and Dottie. The sequel novella, Marshmallows, published in November 2022 with Lost Boys Press. Since then, I’ve self-published three collections of micro-poetry called Problematic, Remains, and Trauma.

she/they

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started